new year grad suggestions

Hope you all had a good holiday. I just got back to Edinburgh. I have about seven months left in the UK, so I want to make the most of my time here and this blog. I don’t really believe in new year’s resolutions, but here’s a rough list of things I hope to do/accomplish this next semester:

Sign up for the gym. Because of my accident, I couldn’t do strenuous exercise for about three months, but now that my injury has stabilized, I want to start going to the gym and getting in shape. Unfortunately, the University of Edinburgh’s Centre for Sport and Exercise isn’t free; a membership costs £95 for a full academic year. Considering international fees are about £10,000 a year, tuition should include a gym membership. Nevertheless, I am still planning to exercise, especially after eating kilos of pain au chocolats, gorgonzola pasta, and tiramisu on this holiday.

2059660171_c428b6cedc

Photo by flickr user I like

Blog about a class-related topic each week. To give you a better understanding of my academic background and research interests, I will blog on a different Cultural Studies topic each week. Future entries will cover cultural memory, the body, the city, and much more.

Get a more permanent job. After a months of job hunting, I managed to snag a temporary position as a Telephone Interviewer at the University of Edinburgh Careers Service. I’ll be calling alumni to see what they are doing. However, this position only lasts for about a month, so I’ll have to continue looking for a job when I get back to Edinburgh.

Start planning for my return to the States. I love living abroad, but I think it’s time to go back to the motherland — at least for a few years. I hope to move to San Francisco with my boyfriend Andrew and my sister Joy this fall. I am not really sure where I want to work, but I’d like to do something that involves creativity, new technology, and the community. Let me know if you have any suggestions.

Cook a wider variety of food. Since Andrew and I are super busy with school, we don’t have as much time to experiment in the kitchen. But, after eating a diverse array of dishes and desserts in the south of France and Italy, I’d like to start being more creative with food and make at least one new thing a week.

286161139_c7afd09be91

Photo by flickr user 46137

Go out more. Andrew and I can be total hermits at times. We usually spend our days working on our computers at home. Fortunately, we live in a park, so it’s not too hard to get fresh air and go for walks. But, this up-coming semester, I’d like to spend more time going to museums and shows. Even though I don’t have the money to spare, it’s still worth it, especially since I won’t be Edinburgh for much longer.

I’ll let you know how things go. Hopefully, I’ll be able to keep up with a few things on this list. Happy 2009!

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “new year grad suggestions”

  1. joyjoy Says:

    i just made curry from scratch last weekend. it was delicious. i too am hoping to cook more in this new year and enjoy new york while i’m still here.
    welcome back to edinburgh!

Leave a Reply

