the moleskine podcast #1: insights from an american couple

I just finished my first podcast, with the help of my wonderful sound-savvy boyfriend Andrew. I hope to do a moleskine podcast series featuring interviews on grad school in the UK with students, professors, and admissions officers. Let me know if there’s a perspective you’d like represented.

n652415155_595651_9929

I conducted my first podcast interview with my friends Ben and Julie, an American couple who are also attending graduate school in the UK. They are veterans of the British higher education system, having completed their undergraduate at Newbold College in Berkshire, England. Ben and Julie graduated in 2003 and 2004 and taught English in South Korea for four years (we all met in Seoul!). They moved back to the UK in September and are currently in living in Leeds. Julie is getting a taught masters in Development Studies and Education at Leeds University and Ben is getting a taught masters in Peace Studies at Bradford University.

Big thanks to Ben and Julie for serving as my podcast guinea pigs!

This was my first podcast, so there are more than a few editing blunders, but overall, I am satisfied. I created this podcast on my macbook through Audacity, a free, open-source sound program for basic recording and editing.

picture-1

A screen shot of a zoomed-in waveform of Audacity

I also downloaded a cafeteria ambient track by user thedapperdan from The Free Sound Project, a user-driven website that allows you to download sounds for free! Unfortunately, wordpress doesn’t let you upload audio unless you upgrade your account (one of the few setbacks of this blog hosting site), but I was able to host my podcast through Andrew’s website {sound + design} and zSHARE, a free file-sharing program. I heart free and open source.

5 Responses to “the moleskine podcast #1: insights from an american couple”

  1. Anna Says:

    Congrats on your first podcast, Melissa! I loved being able to hear all your voices.

    PS: Free and open source stuff rocks my world, too!

  2. melissa Says:

    thanks, anna! hope all is well in new york.

  3. the moleskine podcast #2: the cultural studies perspective « Says:

    […] can also check out my first podcast with my American friends Ben and Julie who are also studying at the […]

  4. Hana Says:

    Melissa, I am so impressed! Congratulations. 🙂 You have inspired me to look into how to make podcasts, even though there’s no immediate impetus to learn. Technology is intimidating, but that’s no excuse for me to avoid trying to gain new skills.

    • melissa andrada Says:

      Thanks for the congrats! I’m glad. You should learn; it’s a lot of fun. Just start small and make one on something you care about. Let me know if you need any help getting started. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

