meadowbank stadium: a treasure of antiques

My boyfriend Andrew, my friend Bethany, and I were on London Road on our way to Sainsbury’s when we stumbled upon a sign that said Antiques Fair at Meadowbank Stadium. None of us had ever been to the Stadium, so we decided to check it out. In one of the ground-floor rooms beneath the actual stadium, we found an antique junkie’s paradise: table after table of stained glass, old postcards, funky jewelry, and items you would find stored in you  grandma’s attic. Fortunately, I was able to suppress my urge to buy everything and only purchased about a bag full of goodies for less than £5. I’ll definitely be at the next one.

Here are the details for the next Meadowbank Stadium Antique and Collectors Fair:

Meadowbank Stadium, London Road, Edinburgh, EH7 6AE
Open: 10am – 4.30pm on Sunday, April 5
Admission: £1 (accompanied children free)

To find antiques in other parts of the UK, check out the Antiques-Atlas.

img_3250

Above are some of the goodies Andrew and I got at the Antiques Fair, all for less than £10.

img_3253

I got this cool watch for about 50p. It needs a battery, but I’ll probably just wear it as a bracelet.

img_3251

This postcard was £2. A bit pricey, but the seller said it was postmarked 1902. Not sure if this is actually true, but I’d like to think so.

img_3252

This is the message that was written on the back.

img_32541

One of my many nicknames is Panda, so I couldn’t resist buying this double set of cards for a £1.

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “meadowbank stadium: a treasure of antiques”

  1. Hana Says:

    Melissa, I have a suggestion for a future entry and/or podcast: how to file taxes from abroad! Or I guess how to file taxes when you’ve made money in a different country. I can’t figure it out. My workplace never gave me W-2 forms or really made me fill out documentation, as far as I can remember. I’m quite concerned. I really don’t want to contact them again, but I might have to.

    I sent Amy a message on CS and she said that she actually hasn’t filed taxes since she started working in Korea. She figures she’ll just take care of it if/when she moves back to the states. I’ve already returned to the states, though, so…that’s not an option. She said that I probably have to contact my workplace.

  2. melissa andrada Says:

    hey there, thanks for blog tip! I’ll definitely try write up on that. I’ll let you know when it’s posted. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

